Engine won't fire after replacing injector hose and fuel lines

Hi all

-sorry to be on the ask for my first post.

I have a very nice 1989 XJS with 23500 miles on it.Owned since the summer
Now I have read all the advice on fuel lines etc and over this Xmas hols I decided to fit my injector kit from Mr Injector.

Clued up on you tube I fitted the kit all fine and refitted back to the car paying special attention to make sure the plugs went back to the correct injector, all were numbered by me.
All injectors were done one by one and fitted to the same spot on the rail.

Now I have fuel up to the rail, the car will turn over but not fire. Im no mechanic but I know everything went back as it was so I’m a bit at a loss what to do next.

I have so checked for fuel at the rail which I have. Also removed one of the front injectors to see if there was any fuel coming on when I turned it over, nothing coming out.

Any thoughts please?

Thanks in advance

Pat

Pat,
Welcome to Jag-Lovers.
Does your car have the Lucas or Marelli ignition system (1989 was the transition year)? Do you hear the fuel pump running when you crank the engine over with the starter? Do you have spark at the plugs when you crank the engine?

Paul

Hi paul.

The Ignition is Marelli.
I undid the inlet hose on the rail and put the open end in a bottle, I flipped the ignition on and plenty of petrol came out.

Have not tried a plug yet didn’t see the point if no fuel coming out the injector.

Many thanks

Pat

Also although I think it was unconnected before and I am starting to doubt myself this wire does not seem to have a home.

Im pretty sure I didn’t disconnect it.

Thanks

Pat

Pat,
Get a mechanics stethoscope and listen to the fuel injectors while someone else cranks the engine with the ignition key. You should hear a very pronounced clicking at all 12 injectors that proves that they are working. Also check for spark at the plugs.