Headlamp switch connections

I’m working on connecting the new loom.

Could someone with a 4 position headlamp switch please post a picture of the connections? My car was originally only 3 way, I sourced a used 4 way and fitted it, but the numbers marked on the switch don’t match up to the wiring diagram.

Also, what on earth is that 1/2 W resistor for?

And another also… How is the arm of the harness for the GB/OD routed out of the dash? It’s glued under the carpet/felt, so I’m trying to make sure that the rest of the harness sits sweetly before I glue it in place.

Hi Andrew I am new to jaguars and haven’t gotten too far into the mk2 yet. I have an automatic in mine. I cannot give a definitive answer but my manual states if it has a standard transmission the resistance has been omitted from the lighting switch, suggesting it would have something to do with the voltage to the od or gear indicator? Just guessing…

Resistor. When the lights are turned on the O/D light on the nacelle dims.
O/D harness runs along the gearbox tunnel,
gearbox side.
Do you have the small harness for the gearbox, O/D and reverse?
Peter

That makes sense about the dimming of the light, it’s just not terribly apparent from the schematic.

On the loom routing, yes, clear it’s on the LHS through a grommet. I was wondering more about how it exits the center part of the dash.

I have the small GB extension harness, I bought a complete harness from Autosparks.

Andrew, when you say “four way” I expect that you mean: off; side; head; fog? I will take a picture when I get home. Expect to be beaten to it! Paul

When I am driving and go into overdrive and see that little red light it comes as a surprise ,as I usually drive with my lights on and it is almost invisible. Seeing the red light reminds me to turn on my headlights to be more visible to those that drive with today’s common distractions.

Gerard

Yes, by 4 way I meant the switch with the 4th position “Fog”.

Andrew