How do I close the door?

I know, this sounds like a dumb question! I’ve been driving my '69 OTS for more than 10 years, and am now asking how to close the door! Let me explain… Up until recently, I’ve always had the top down, and the window wound down. So, I simply closed the doors from inside by pulling on the top of the door. On the recent GCOL the frequent rain meant that the top and windows were up most of the time. As a result, closing the doors (they sometimes need a bit of a slam to latch properly), became a challenge. My early 69 OTS has no armrests. The door card has a recess for the internal door handle at the bottom of the door. There is chrome strip around the bottom of this recess, but you can’t use it to close the door. You would be pulling on the door card which is only held on with clips (it looks like a PO tried to do so, and so at least one clip is broken). The only option seems to be to pull on the internal door handle, which also isn’t that substantial. Am I missing something? What do you drivers of OTSs with no arm rests do?

-David

David;
The only Jag I have had apart is mine a 70 2+2 but that has not stopped me from offering advice in the past!
It seems to me I have read that at some point Jaguar started to install the internal fixings for the armrests before they actually installed the armrests. If true you may have the internal hardware to install the armrest if you desire. Only a suggestion.

Regards, Joel.

I’d give it an impulse pull, on the handle, and it closed…:wink:

My driver’s door would not close as nicely as the passenger, and the technique never seemed to negatively affect the door lever or the mechanism.