How to bleed the clutch

Hello, I’ve purchased a 63 type series 1 fhc. I’m new to owning a jag and doing maintenance etc. The cars runs perfectly in the year i’ve owned except this summer ran into a problem when the car is warm with the clutch.
When warm it is difficult to shift gears and i’ve been told there may be air in the system that needs to be bled. Does anyone have a video of a clutch being bled? I’d like to try and tackle this myself. Thanks for any assistance

There’s no mystery to bleeding the clutch, though the downward orientation of the bleed nipple is a slight complication. It can be done solo but having an assistant behind the wheel is useful. Standard procedure is to attach one end of a snug fitting, clear PVC hose to the slave cylinder nipple and put the other end into a glass jar. Make sure the reservoir is full. Crack open the bleed nipple and have your assistant pump the clutch pedal a few times till no air bubbles appear in the hose then tighten the nipple. Top up the reservoir. You may have to repeat.

1 Like

Hi Dean, I’m sure there are videos and others will be able to advise the best way.
If you are in fact getting air, you may want to replace your brake slave cylinder, it may be worn out and inducing air as you’re shifting. And at minimum you can always check and see if it’s leaking.
Make sure fluid is fresh it may even have water in it. It’s like bleeding brakes.
On my old S type I have a couple photos from last year when I had to swap it out here SLAVE to your CYLINDER
Good luck let us know how you made out

1 Like

so far i haven’t even been able to find the bleed nipple so that will be my first step lol. I"m not mechanic but enjoy doing small jobs. Where would i find that? any pics would really help. The diagrams in the owners manual aren’t that helpful

I wonder whether in fact this is more related to the gearbox synchros.

Drain your gearbox oil and replace it with Redline MT90. You will need around 1.7 litres.