Inexpensive motor oil

I have been using Valvoline VR1 20w50 in my XK120, for which I just paid $3.50/qt by buying a case of three 5qt containers (Amazon). This is half of what I paid last year when I bought cases of quarts.

I just noticed another quality oil for even less:
Castrol 03112 GTX High Mileage 20W-50 Synthetic Blend Motor Oil, 5 Quart for UNDER $3/qt (Amazon).

Given how much oil our car’s need per change(12-14), I’m delighted by the new lower prices.

John,

I’m not an expert on the subject of lubrication but I understood that we shouldn’t use these modern (read high dope content/ additives or even synthetic) oils in our old XK engines. More in particular, using these oils in the gearbox (which uses the same type of oil as the engine) will lead to all sort of problems and can be very “expensive” (instead of saving cost). I’m afraid that the oils you refer to are typical examples of such “modern” oils. There are plenty of these “Classic” oils from many different brands and as competition between them is increasing, prices are getting better.

Bob K.

So long as the ZDDP content is sufficient, it’ll work fine.

These modern formulations all have enough

Here is one data point

Last weekend I was racing with some pals. The car’s are all 1974 and older, and all run vintage motors (no modern LS or coyote crate motors). Our pistons and valves are modern and some run steel cranks and modern forged race rods. One of the guys, Bob, blew a head gasket at the end of the first day. He is the sort of guy who then says, “I’ll install a new one after dinner.” He is 10x above me in knowledge and experience.

Since there was plenty of time we kicked back and talked about oil. I asked him about his experience using Mobil 1 (15w50) in his nearly 50 year old European twin cam motor.