Installation of new window rubber

My 71 XJ6 is in very good condition given it’s age. The Epoxy regency red paint, professionally applied many years ago has held up extremely well. The chrome is like new. (Of course the fact that it has never seen rain, snow, or excessive sun and only 43,000 miles helps a bit.) However, one item that has not held up well is the rubber on the front and read windows. It’s dry and brittle. As a result, the chrome that should be over the rubber is almost impossible to get into place. I am afraid that it’s hopeless. Has anyone found a way to soften old rubber, or should I just buy new? You may wonder why I’m hesitating given what I assume is a minor issue. It’s because thus far, I’ve done all the work myself for the past 40 years. But I have no experience with glass and am hesitant to give it to someone else to do. Should I be concerned regarding the instillation of the rubber or is it as easy as it seems?

Thanks
Lou

Its not that hard to do I have done front and back screens and was like you a bit worried about taking on this task. New rubber is the way to go you can not really restore old rubber. A helper would make the job easier. try not to bend the chrome and it will go back in just fine. take your time don’t rush and keep metal tools away from the glass.
Cut the old rubber with a knife pull out the locking strip and push out the glass then clean it all before putting on new rubber seals and locking strip you can buy a tool to help put the locking strip in. you can search You tube lots of info to help you there.

Gary: Thank you for the help. In purchasing the rubber, is there more than one size? If so, I assume I can pull out a piece of the old rubber as a sample? And, is there anything needed to coat the new rubber for installation or is it simply insured “au natural”. Regards, Lou

Consult your parts book or the one provided on the website you order from