Left front caliper "sticking"

Hey guys, I’ve been using the Book of Kirby for a couple years now, so this is my long-overdue first post.

After a mechanical refresh, the first couple test drives in my car (1989 V12, with ABS) showed that the left front brake was dragging. I rebuilt the calipers and replaced the pads, rotors, and hoses. I found some sort of scale or crystals inside the calipers, which I cleaned out.

Surprisingly, this has not fixed the problem. The left front caliper does not release when you take your foot off the brake. The interesting thing is that relieving the pressure by opening the bleed screw or even cracking the line at the ABS unit causes the caliper to release as it should.

I can take another shot at rebuilding that caliper, but it seems like the caliper is working. I can also try rebuilding the master cylinder in case it’s afflicted with the same deposits as the calipers, but it seems strange that only one wheel would be affected. Last option would be to disassemble the ABS module.

Try to find a safe place and exercise the ABS unit by braking very hard, it could be a small amount of debris in one of the valves.

Hi, you need to clean out the ABS module or replace with a good one.
That will cure it.
Cheers, Brian.

The left front caliper
does not release when you take your foot off the brake. The
interesting thing is that relieving the pressure by opening the bleed
screw or even cracking the line at the ABS unit causes the caliper to
release as it should.

That means the problem is upstream of the joint at the ABS that you
cracked. It’s probably one of the valves in the ABS unit. And the
problem was probably caused by someone replacing pads and pushing
the dirty brake fluid back up into the unit rather than opening the bleeder
when pushing the pucks back.

You might try disconnecting that line altogether and then stomping on the
brake pedal hard once or twice. See if you can blow the crud out of the