Lucas P100 Headlamps

Here’s a new something to ponder.
I took apart my P100 headlamps today, and I discovered the left hand bucket shell is painted black on the inside. That’s the one that dips.
Why would it be black inside?
Was it a law, something to do with the wartime blackout, when everybody in England that could get petrol was driving around with one dipped headlight?

Second question.
There is a Lucas cloisonne emblem on the top of the outer chrome rings. Anybody know how to remove them?

Sorry, I wasn’t able answer your radiator question despite dismantling and reassembling several for rechroming. Untwisting and retwisting the tabs is necessary and frightening due to metal fatigue. I just can’t remember but I think I removed the chromed slats from that cross piece then just slid it sideways to get it out of the shell.

My P100s are both the same buff colour inside as are all the other shells that I’ve seen. War time shades looked like this:

I’ve no experience of removing the crests.

Peter

Did you want to remove the Lucas badges to re-chrome the crest bracket? If so, check with the electroplater as mine said it is not a problem to re-plate in situ as the enamel is unaffected. Similar to replating the sidelight lens surrounds. These can be done with the lens in place.

I’ve not seen how they are attached but I think they are sweated on with solder.

There are some classic parts suppliers stocking replacement badges but they are too wide, at 19mm, for the model of P100 on the Mk IV.

Peter

Thanks Peter and Peter.
My Lucas emblems are 19mm x 24mm.

Apparently you can still find the headlight covers. There were several types.
Here’s some info about them.

The regulations mention painting the reflector black.

It’s strange that someone would paint the inside of the shell. Maybe he was getting a reflective glow when it was dipped?

But the visibility must have been poor. These two failed to see a bomb crater.

HM the King had one on his Daimler.