New car, new member - a few questions

I am about to pull the trigger on an apparently rust-free 1969 4.2L 4-speed, but have a couple of questions before I do.

First, a word about my mechanical experience level to help people avoid wasting their valuable (and much appreciated) time: I have been turning wrenches since 1974, and have (for instance) restored a 1967 MG Midget (sold recently). I rebuilt the engine myself, after the shop polished the crank and bored the block .020" over, together with virtually every other system.

Here are my pre-purchase questions:

First: I owned (and stupidly sold) a one-owner 1972 XJ6, so have at least a passing familiarity with the 4.2L engine. I found it to be an outstanding engine, which is why Iā€™m considering this car versus a V-12. Does this car have the same engine as in my '72 XJ6?

Second: are there any engine, transmission/clutch, suspension or brake parts that I cannot obtain these days?

Third: what is the best shop manual to buy? I prefer one with things like the proper valve seat angles, etc., as I like to cut my own seats, R&R my own guides, and so forth.

Fourth: in the event they are leaking, is it possible to retrofit a rubber type crank seal @ the front or rear main? Are the ā€˜ropeā€™ seals I assume it has originally durable, if I were to replace them?

Fifth: how does one properly raise these cars? I have a ā€˜quick jackā€™ setup, so wonder if I can make (or buy) jacking point adapters to safely raise the car?

Sixth: I favor the Pertronix ignitions, and see that they have a negative earth version for the 4.2L engine. Is this car negative or positive earth?

Thank you - and should I buy the car, Iā€™ll undoubtedly have more questions.

Hi Joel. If you enjoyed your XJ6 you will definatily enjoy an E Type.

1. The 69 engine is 95% or more the same engine - mostly it is the ancillaries that are different.

2. Virtually everything is avaialble for an E Type