New to forum, New to jags, any tips for my project?

Hello jag lovers,

I recently purchased a 1987 xjs and instantly fell in love. The lush interior, sexy curves and gut wrenching speeds are exactly what I wished for for christmas :). At 77,000 Km’s and no mechanical issues I couldn’t be happier with my purchase. Now to make it the car of envy. I’m not a mechanic by any means (more of a physics geek), but I can build/fix anything. So I began planning my project while the car sat over the winter months. I would really appreciate any tips on where to start and any problems I’m likely to encounter in relation to my project aspirations. 

Step 1: We need more power!
I have seen many posts about swapping engines or going for a manual transmission. But how about a turbo? I’m considering installing an electric assisted turbocharger to increase my compression and still give me that pop that a supercharger would without the drag on my cam shaft. Not sure if I would have to replace the pistons, rods or anything else but it is a race car so my hopes are high.

Step 2: Happy wife happy life
Being that this is going to be a touring car it’s gotta be wife friendly. I recently came across a video for a 2018 Volvo XC90 excellence and thought “I can do that!”. Turning my passenger seat into a first class experience for the wife on long trips is just the justification I need to convince her that what I’m doing is totally worth it.

Step 3: I’m # 1
In the end it’s my car. And I plan on taking her around the world if I can. So why not be comfortable. Installing an electronic 10 way seat positioning module w/lumbar support would be a good start. Or maybe a heads up display? LED lights for better clarity perhaps?