Possible burned ignition amp?

So long story short I had a small electrical fire in the vee of my pre he xj12. Turns out something arced on the valve cover and started some grease on fire. Thinkinh it was a faulty spark plug wire.
Anyway. The damage was pretty much limited to the injector harness, sensor harness, and the plug leads. I also noticed that some of the leads to and from the opus ignition amp were melted. This was my biggest concern as these are hard to find and expensive. To test this evening, i cut off the damaged portions and spliced in new wire temporarily.
I turned on the ignition and tested the positive post of the coil with a multimeter and got a reading of 4.9v with the battery at 12.5. Im not an expert on these things but as far as i know its supposed to read battery voltage at the positive coil post no?
Should I start worrying that my amp is bad?

In principle, ‘yes’, Alan. With the engine not turning there is no connection between coil ‘-’ and ground - and both coil ‘-’ and ‘+’ should show battery voltage with ign ‘on’…

The ign amplifiers function is to ‘make’ and ‘break’ coil ‘-’ connection to ground - which alters coil ‘-’ between 0 and 12V. However, there are some pitfalls with the OPUS layout; if you disconnect the leads between dist and amp - coil voltage should indeed be between 4 and 6V…so…?

However, the best amplifier test is simply to run the engine - if it runs OK, everything is presumably OK…

Frank
xj6 85 Sov Europe (UK/NZ)

Unfortunately the engine won’t be able to run for a little while. As i have the intakes, cam covers, and fuel rails, off of the car.
The left side cam cover is being replaced as it was damaged in the mishap along with the harnesses. I bought quite a bit of polyethylene insulated wire and a terminal repair kit. I’m rebuilding the damaged harnesses from scratch. The fire didnt damage my injectors but im not taking chances and will be replacing any rubber hoses that were near the flame.