Question for F type V8 S owners

I live on the Big island of Hawaii
The car below is for sale in Maui, we have no Jaguar dealer on the Big Island.
I have a relationship with a good independent shop, I have read some things on F types need Dealer service only is this true.?

Thoughts please, this is a Well maintained 2014 V8S
Am I better just keeping my 94 XJS 4.0 CONVT.

Mahalo Rob

Hi Rob,

Big caveat: I’m not a mechanic. Just another 2014 F-Type (3.0S) owner since new.

Not sure where that information came from. All modern cars are full of computers, so there’s that. But with a good OBDII reader/dongle you can read most diagnostic codes and reset the service light etc.

The F-Types share a lot of parts with other Jaguar models, including the engines. The convertible top is unique of course, but other than that…

That said, are you comfortable with the price? Over $40k seems steep. KBB indicates $30-35k for that car in that zip code.

I agree with you on price, but when you live in Hawaii you get used to paying extra, if I buy one on the mainland I save $5K and pay $4K in Shipping. I don’t like the color I do like the miles and service History. Have you had many issues ? Little stuff. Mine will stay in the Garage and go out on occasions. I read the early ones can have issues with water getting in the vents on the bonnet and corroding the injectors. I am very against Jag becoming an Electric car company. Mahalo Rob

No, the car’s been pretty reliable.

• I had the battery die on me in the first year. Replaced on warranty.
  • The gas filler neck was too restrictive and was replaced as part of a recall. Also early on after I bought it.
  • The bypass valve in the exhaust system that opens up for more noise (and supposedly more go) failed and had to be replaced on warranty.