Replace spring type clutch with diaphragm type on S1...any experience?

I need to replace my removed spring type clutch and would like to fit a diaphragm type. Does anyone have personal experience of doing this (and can share) or do all S1 owners stick to the original spring type when replacing?
I have no experience of driving with the spring type clutch. Is not noticeably heavy?

Also, my flywheel is a little scored (not much) Is it possible to have it skimmed or is it not worth the bother (thinking about balancing and clutch plate tolerances)

A spring pressure plate is noticeably heavier on the foot, than a diaphragm: it’s not a huge deal, but the flywheel has to be redrilled and -doweled for a diaphragm clutch.

Get that flywheel faced, too.

I’m trying to figure out why you have a spring clutch. Is this a 66? I’ve always understood the 10" spring clutch to be a 3.8 thing.

IME the spring clutch is quite noticeably stiffer than the diaphragm. The diaphragms I’ve driven felt downright modern whereas my spring clutch is a major workout. Of course there are other variables like whether the pedal return spring is in one piece or broken, and how tight the slave spring is adjusted.

Judging from the photo of your flywheel it appears to me to already have two sets of drillings, for both type clutches and inner course and an outer? Whether it’s an original that has been modified or is a replacement type I couldn’t guess. I know places have been selling dual purpose flywheels for a while.

The one and only benefit I know of with the spring clutch is that it is stronger. It won’t slip under load until the friction plate is basically gone, so it’s good for high performance racing engines. I’m doubting a 2+2 falls under that category.

Good catch! I think the OP is set.