Rye Oil , any one used it?

Time to get some oil for my XK Engine , my dad told me Duckhames is back , you can only buy it from them at around £30 a gal
I did use Halfords classic car oil at £20 for 5lt , but read that has no ZDDP in it !
Then I come across this Rye Oil £55 for 25 lt :scream:
As Rye is just down the road from me , would be nice to buy local .
Has anyone used the Oil
https://www.ryeoil.co.uk/shop/classic-20w50-engine-oil-2/
I guess UK Jag owners only !!

Never heard of it but it is half what I am paying for Castrol Classic 20W50. The data sheet info looks similar to the Castrol specification and both claim API SE/CC - but I am no expert in oil suitability. If you are happy with it Ian, I will get some too when I am down your way.

Frankie

It’s on E-bay Frankie , free delivery !!

My only hesitation is a distrust of things cheap. How can Rye Oil sell an equivalent quality product at half the price, even if heavily discounted? Logic says their base cost must be less - and that means inferior ingredients or blending. OK, so they don’t have the overheads of the major producers/suppliers - but half the price? It sounds too good to be true…

Frankie

I know what you mean Frankie , not quite the same , but some people are happy drinking tap water , then others buy it in a plastic bottle , like Peckham spring water :sunglasses:

A guy who runs a Austin 10 , with no filter , says it’s good stuff , shall I be a Guinea pig !!

Then again less then 2000 miles a year one may never know just how good or bad it is , the saving could pay for a good few pints :beer:

You’ve heard the old saying “You get what you pay for”? IMO, all too often you don’t get what you pay for, you get less.

That said, I’d still stick with a well known national brand for the E-type. Most owners don’t put a lot of miles on their car so they do what, 1-2 oil changes a year. The cost difference between the expensive stuff and run of the mill stuff isn’t that great.