Series 3 rear brake calipers

Can I replace rear brake calipers without removing rear assembly on a 1974 Series 3
OTS?

Unfortunatly not…Steve

1 Like

Welcome to the Forum. I just finished the rebuild on the IRS of my 74 E Type OTS. Others can tell you if it is feasible, but you can do a topic search here in the Forum for past discussions on just about any topic.

I can tell you that dropping the IRS is not a really difficult task if you have the right equipment and if you replace the calipers you will probably need to re-shim the rotors to centralize the rotors in the calipers. I do not even want to think about the degree of difficulty in doing that with the IRS in the vehicle even if it is technically possible.

I am still learning and have done all of my work with the car disassembled.
Others here are a lot more experienced when it comes to what can and can’t be done with all the mechanicals in place.

How long have you had your car? We always like to see pictures.

Rod

Dropping the IRS is actually very easy.

Loosen the spinners.*
Raise the rear high enough to remove both rear wheels.
Remove wheels.
Disconnect the rear brake hose after clamping it.
Pull the clevis pin out of the end of the handbrake cable.

Put a trolley lift under the pumpkin - about 6 inches further forward than you think you should - it is deceptively front heavy.

Pull the bolts holding the four cage mounts.

Lower the IRS down. Just walk the IRS/trolley out sideways through the wheel well!

*If you have wire wheels, use a heat gun on the spinners before you try to loosen them.

When reassembling, use an R-clip instead of a split pin in the clevis pin. (You’ll thank yourself next time around.) Probably replace the brake hose if it isn’t new. When the cage mounts go back on - two on the cage and two on the car body.

kind regards
Marek

1 Like