Series 3 XJ6 ECU Upgrade

I have decided to bite the bullet and replace my stock ECU in my 84 XJ6 with a Haltech Elite 750. This is an excellent system readily available here in Australia with a good reputation for support, and I’ve heard of it being used in many older cars. I am an electronics technician with 40 years experience so will be undertaking the work myself. Plus, I have owned the car for 20 years and am very familiar with it to say the least, having fully restored it. I’m also experienced enough to ask advice from anyone who may have done this before. I’m especially interested if anyone has advice on replacing the injectors. Do I order new standard injectors or is there a good replacement that fits without too much work. Any and all advice greatly received.

Pete

2 Likes

Just to summarize the function of the original ECU, Pete…

Using a standardized fuel pressure it computes how long the injectors are opened (once every engine revolution, triggered by ign amplifier) to deliver fuel/correct mixture, based on engine temp (CTS) and amount of air into the engine (AFM flap deflection). The internal circuitry includes functions like cranking enrichment and acceleration enrichment (‘acceleration pump’). Two separate external items, independent of the ECU, provides cold fast idle (AAV), and cold start enrichment, choke functions, (thermotime and CSI). The externals’ function is there to simplify the computations done by the ECU…

All these are necessary criteria for engine performance and is, in various guises, incorporated in all fuel delivery systems - carbs or EFI. And likely the case for the EFI you mention - the ultimate output for all is appropriate fuel/air mixture at all engine temps and any combination of throttle setting, load and rpms…

The injectors simply deliver an amount of fuel depending on their opening duration (pulse width) and fuel pressure. If the EFI in question does the same - the injectors fitted will work as is…