Timing chain/cam connection

I took off my head for rebuilding and it is now reinstalled after putting #6 piston at ttc on compression stroke and cams in correct position. So I am now ready to connect timing chain sprockets to camshaft and I am not experienced and am nervous about getting this critical step right, even though I have read and re-read both the original Jag and Haynes maintenance manuals. So would appreciate your confirmation or correction of following proposed steps.

1. As the cha in moves a little back and forth, my first step will be be to rotate the serrated adjuster ccw until chain is reasonably tight and does not rotate.
  2. Then remove clips from sprockets, shift out The adjuster plate until holes line up with holes in cam.
  3. Insert one setscrew.
  4. Then, and this step which will make me most sweat, rotate engine so I can insert second setscrew
  5. Finally rewire the set screws.
    Is this the right sequence and, if so, what is most critical step?

I would keep some slack in the chain or you’ll find that you can’t get the sprocket to fit onto the cam.

You need to rotate the engine because you can’t access both holes at once. Once you have the sprocket correctly seated on the vernier and one bolt snugged down nothing can move.

To get this to work you need to have the holes in the cam and the vernier EXACTLTY right. It is sometimes possible to get the bolt to go in and start in the thread even though you have the vernier slightly cocked and not correctly seated. The bolt should thread in easily by hand. If it doesn’t, stop and ensure that you really so have the holes perfectly aligned.

Take your tlme and use a good torch to ensure that the vernier is seated all the way around. DO this by checking that it is equally deep in the sprocket all the way around. Don’t forget to stuff a rag in the top of the timing void so you can’t drop things down there.

1 Like