Tire Pressure Recommendation

I just put on a new set of tires, Universal Sport Classics 185 HR 15, replacing the same tire that I’ve been running for the past several years. The maximum pressure rating on the side wall is 35 psi. I was running 28 psi front, 32 rear and the tires all wore out in the center of the tread, which to me would indicate over inflation. Longstone in England has a suggested inflation chart and various brands of that size recommend 32 psi for some makes and up to 40 psi for others. From that, I am inferring that the recommended pressure would depend on which brand and how the tire is used (high speed, aggressive driving, etc.). My driving habits are generally within 5 mph or so of the legal limit with little aggressive driving. I’m looking for optimum tread wear while maintaining the handling that the E Type is designed for. What is the opinion of the forum on where I should start? Maybe 28 front, 24 rear? I know that under inflation can lead to side wall fatigue and potentially failure, so I certainly don’t want to risk that.

I run 32 all around on my Vreds.

For gentle street use, I think you’re overthinking it :slight_smile:

Best!

1 Like

32 psi is kind of my “set it and forget it” tire pressure for all my cars, including the Etype. If you are wearing out the centers of the tires at the pressures you mention, I would question the calibration on your tire gauge.

Also, since the Etype has more weight on the front axle than the rear, I probably wouldn’t have run the front lower than the rear. You are right, over inflation might be indicative of wear in the center of the tread but I would consider over inflation to be numbers north of 40 psi. You’ve got something else going on here.