White Exhaust Smoke

Hi All, I am a new E Type owner and this is my first post!

I am not an expert mechanic, but get do most things to a reasonable standard.

Quick history of the car: I purchased a 69 OTS that had been in storage for 40+ Years. Before starting it I did the following:

• replaced every component of the fuel system
  • rebuilt the carburetors
  • installed a 123 Electronic distributor
  • installed new exhaust manifolds and exhaust system
  • had the radiator re-cored and replaced the coolant
  • replaced the oil

To start it up I did the following:

• cranked it by hand
  • cranked it with started with no fuel or spark, oil pressure was about 40 to 50
  • finally started it
  • adjusted the timing

Ran it a few times for a few minutes then did a compression test. Cylinders 1, 4 and 5 were all good, other 3 very low.

Put a little oil into the bad cylinders and let it sit a couple days. Started it today and it was running better, but I noticed the water temp getting high and shut it down. Did another compression test and the only cylinder low was 6.

Started it again while still warm and got a lot of white smoke out of the 1,2, manifold.

I know white smoke means head gasket, but doesn’t make sense with the compression test.

Thoughts? Any help would be appreciated!!

After 40 years of sitting, I would pull the head to see what you got. I would pull the pan to check the bearings. At least check the piston on low pressure cylinder for condition of the rings. Could be a lot of corrosion from sitting 40 years cold and wet.

1 Like

White smoke can also mean burning brake fluid sucked in from the servo and/or vaccuum reservoir. While working on the engine you might want to disconnect and plug the vacuum pipe from the intake manifold to eliminate this possibility.

7 Likes

Thanks David, will give it a try in the morning.

Not sure how much brake fluid there is in the system, haven’t gotten that far yet.