XK 150S overdrive not working properly

Before I restored my XK150, the electric overdrive worked properly, i.e., flip the switch and it engaged. To disengage, you merely switched to off. Now, it engages properly, but when I back off the gas - even a little - it goes back into 4th gear on its own. I’m pretty sure this is not how it is supposed to operate. Any thoughts on what might be wrong. Note: the solenoid is new and all the wiring and fluid levels have been checked.
Thanks.

Jerry

Hi Jerry,

I have no direct experience, as my o/d is functional. I understand that the solenoid has two windings, one to perform the initial activation and one to hold it in position. The former cuts out when the o/d actually engages. Perhaps the holding winding is not working.

There is also a gearbox inhibitor switch to prevent o/d working in all but 3rd and 4th gears, and a throttle inhibitor switch. Perhaps these or their wiring are faulty.

Regards,
Clive.

Jerry
How low is your speed when it’s popping out of overdrive?
We tend to drive a 65 year old car like a modern one.
Overdrive should be switched on around 60 plus
If your doing 40 your dumping the gears
It’s should drop off if your that slow
Make any sense?
Also it should not engage in anything but 4th
Good luck
Gtjoey1314
Sorry Welcome aboard!!!

Let’s bear in mind he probably has a 4.09 rear gear so the output shaft of the tranny will be turning quite a bit faster than a shorter rear gear car would require. I see no reason why the pump and accumulator system should not be able to keep up the pressure even at moderate speeds, though the OP did not say at what engine RPM this problem is cropping up.

I would also suspect the “holding coil” as one of the possible causes here.

Clive:

Thanks. I will check on these.

Jerry