A Rare Snow Cat

I put the 90 XJS away for the winter over a month ago but I had to do an unplanned move to access one of my snowmobiles.
The temp was -12c/10f and suprisingly it started right up and idled just like it does in summer temperatures. There is a block heater on our XJS but I did not have it plugged in. I have been using Liqui Moly10W60 full synthetic oil for a few years now and I think it helped it crank and start so easily.

Jag1
jag2

5 Likes

Be careful, with that low air dam, your XJ-S will become A Rare Snow Plow! :wink:

3 Likes

LOLā€¦lucky its only goin back in the garage until spring
:grinning:

I was thinking of taking mine out just to start ip and fill up the gas tank. I must admit I got lazy and it does not like to drive in the snow. I canā€™t believe that back in the good ole days we used to drive rear wheel drive cars all the time. I canā€™t help but think when I drive the XJ-S in snow and ice Iā€™m taking my life in my own hands.

1 Like

As opposed to FWD cars where you put your life in the hands of fate? Unless you get stuck snow is much more fun with RWD if you can drive.

4 Likes

Decades ago (about 1983) I was doing aircraft accident investigations and our team was dispatched to Alaska in Oct. Snow was about waist deep except the roadways had been kept drivable clean. Packed down snow about 2 inches or do on a somewhat deserted roadway and we had a FWD rental car. Decided to see how well it could track. Our ā€œdriverā€ could not get it to skid out or fishtail at the posted speed. Was probably about 35 mph.
I have driven and have ridden RWD in snow and ice in many states, Germany, and Korea. Got to admit I thought that FWD Chevy we had in Alaska that night was good to have in those conditions.
I wonder sometimes about the current trend to have all wheel driveā€¦sounds like increased maintenance and repair.

AWD is brilliant in the snow!