Is it to far gone? '85 XJ6

Hi all. I am new to the forum and have been doing quite a bit of reading since joining. I recently inherited a 1985 XJ6 from my grandfather who purchased it new. I was planning on fixing the car myself as a challenge and a project. I am not a vehicle mechanic by any means but I think that with the Hanyes manual I can figure it out and learn. That being said the vehicle has sat at his house under a tarp in Alabama for the past 7 years. Prior to this it was garage kept. The first thing I noticed when removing the tarp was a large rust spot in front of the left fuel tank and moisture on the inside of the windows. I was still optimistic about this project until today. I got the vehicle to my house and started removing the floor mats and carpet to see how bad the moisture damage was when I found that both front floor pans were very rusty. The right side more so than the left side. On the right side there is a small hole that I can see the ground through. The rear floor appears to be in good shape considering the age of the car and how/where it was stored the last 7 years. The vehicle appears to have some sort of undercoating on it that is peeling off in some areas. I am looking for advise as to whether I should continue with my efforts or scrap the idea of restoring it because of the rust damage to the floor pan. Any input is greatly appreciated. I will try and post pictures of the damage as well.

1 Like

Does the car run, Mitchell? If the running gear is OK it might help you understand how far you could go on the body? In the worst of circumstances you might be able to get a good second hand body shell and transfer over. If you let us know what town you live in someone close enough might have a look at the car for you. I’m in Sydney, not much help!