Lifting an XKE with a two post lift

I am a newbie to this site and to my first XKE which will soon be on its way. I know you are supposed to be careful with the IRS unit, but unsure how one goes about that with a two post lift. Can someone give me instructions or pictures about how to do this and where the jacking points are on the car. Also, a recommendation for a good shop manual would be useful. thanks again Steve

Welcome!

Tons of stuff in the archive on this.

1 Like

Steve,

Welcome to the forum. Lots of friendly folks here, and even more advice in the archives. This thread should help you with shop manuals:

2 Likes

Hello and welcome. Which year and body style do you have?

On my 69 FHC I use blocks of wood as spacers and lift at the big end radius arm mounts and in front at the point where the front bulkhead ties into the floor.

1 Like

That’s exactly how I lift mine. In the front blocks I have a couple of holes for the plastic carpet pins to recess into.

1 Like

Yes, I did the same thing.

1 Like

The above recommendations for standard lifting on a 2-post lift work fine, but you are asking about removing the IRS which negates using the front of the radius arms at least initially. Also, once you remove the IRS the car becomes VERY front heavy and I suspect using the lift point at the front of the floors may result in a nasty surprise. I use the lower aft A arm attach point for the forward lift point and if removing the IRS I would initially use the rear jacking points. If you can detach the front radius arm cups from the body before lifting (perhaps using a floor jack and jack stands to lift the rear end only) then that would allow using the radius arm cups for lifting. Just be very aware of the balance issues when removing the IRS.

1 Like

Steve - Welcome to J-L.

If that was the question… I would think having the car on the floor (no lift) is by far the easier way to deal with the IRS.

But perhaps Steve is pondering how to avoid this…