Modified XJ12 Options

Hey, I’m brand new to the XJ12 club. Pretty much pulling the entire car apart and refurbishing. Was just wondering what kinds of modifications people have done? Wheel well liners are pretty much rusted through. I was going to make my own with sheet metal welded and paint with a heavy duty truck bed liner. Also looking at putting newer projector headlights in. I want to keep the car “mostly original” but upgrades would be nice as parts become less available. CAD XJ12 Vanden Plas.

Hello Justin. What year is your XJ12?

Pete

Justin,
Welcome to the list. Attached is a picture of my 1990 V12 Vanden Plas, essentially a Daimler Double Six trimmed for the Canadian market. The exterior is Jaguar Racing Green and the interior is Magnolia.

The car is basically stock since I compete it in Jaguar Clubs of North America (JCNA) concours in Champion Division. The only modifications to the car that make it different from factory configuration are the CD changer in the trunk, the burl walnut shifter “T”, the black leather sunvisors that I had custom made, and the modification that I made to the trip computer so that it reads in U.S gallons instead of Imperial gallons. I remove the non-factory items and replace them with the correct ones during the concours season. The Canadian market cars came equipped with factory mud flaps and I leave them on all the time as I like the look and the way they protect the paint behind the tires/wheels.

Paul

1 Like

It is a 1987 XJ12. Paul, your car is gorgeous! I have a lot of work to get mine fixed up. Thank you for the input.

Welcome Justin,

nice project! Without any personal V12 experience I’m happy to pass on just one very general experience: all of these cars are extremely well-balanced compromises with respect to performance and drivability, comfort and dynamics.