Newbie to XJ6 series 1

Hi I’m new to the XJ6, just bought a 79 January built LHD originally shipped to Italy now British registered and largely original except for a change of colour. I drove the car last yesterday and all was well until I tried to use GPS in the cigar lighter socket. It didn’t connect well so I moved it around and something sparked but it then worked. This morning when I started the car the ignition light stays on. I assumed maybe I’d damaged the alternator in some way, shorted out diodes or some such because nothing seemed wrong, no wires off, no fuses blown etc. I had 250 miles cross country to go today so decided to buy a spare battery and drive till the first battery got flat then change it for the new one. Long story short I got back on the original battery, which is still quite happily starting the car though the charge gauge shows it as almost into the red. I think therefor it is still charging but not at the normal rate and not extinguishing the ignition light. Is this possible and if so what should I be looking at to get it back to normal operation. I don’t yet have a manual so have no circuit diagram, it’s on order but not yet arrived.
Couple more questions after the drive today:-

Should the windscreen wipers self park? they don’t presently
Should the indicators self cancel? They don’t presently.
I had problems when exceeding 80kms an hour with what felt like fuel starvation but tank, pump and filter are just new. It turned out to be the fuel filler cap which is not allowing air in so a vacuum is built up big enough to cause a problem for the pump and infact bend the side of the tank, a mighty whoosh when the cap is opened. Can the cap be dismantled and the one way valve system cleaned?

Any help appreciated.

Thanks

Ian

Sorry should have read 69 January built, the 7th as it happens.

Ian

Ian:

Whew?

1. Welcome to our forum. We get and receive a lot of help here.