Oil sump removal

I’m starting to get a little frustrated with removing the sump so I thought I’d take a break and ask the experts. I’ve read the manual and read old posts but I still can’t get it out. What I’ve done so far:

1. Removed all of the screws and studs.
  2. Loosened the engine stabilizer.
  3. Removed the crankshaft damper.
  4. Placed floor jack under the front edge of the bell housing and raised engine slightly. NOTE: I didn’t loosen the front engine mounts. The engine only raised by perhaps 1/2" before I started lifting it off of the lift.
  5. I also rotated the engine so that the number one piston (closest to the bulkhead,right?) was approximately 5 7/8" down as measured from the top of the spark plug threads. This suggestion came from an old post which said the crank could be in the way of removal.

Any suggestions?

I’ve always had to do that and jack up the front and rear of the engine as high as I could.

Rubber mallet ?

Patrick
'66 FHC

Rick, it would seem that you have done everything necessary and more. I never removed the dampner or jacked up the engine / trans. when dropping the sump on my 71 4.2. It is important to remove the reaction plate to clear the back of the sump. But with all nuts removed, the dipstick pulled plus (oil drained), I am with Patrick… a soft blow hammer to tap around the top of the pan and break the gasket seal should be all that you need.

I have never found any need or benefit in rotating the crank to align a particular cylinder either, the crank and journals are all on the same plane. Keep going, it gets better from here on in. best regards, Brian/ Mytype

Try a little judicious heat. Emphasis on the adjective. I’ve recently removed the sumps of my son’s and his gf’s Jettas and the wife’s Rav4 and all three required heat to soften the sealant sufficiently to pop them off, using a thin scraper worked into the seam at a corner in combination with a rubber mallet.