Power Distribution Help....XJ6

I am a high school shop teacher we took on a project that is turning out to be a real pain. The car is a 1973 XJ 4 door. A couple years back the owner of the car decided to ditch the original motor for a SBC and Tranny. Which the motor and tranny are easy enough to figure out, but when she did this, she took it to a shade tree type and he cut and spliced all sorts of wires. It is bad and has been a good example for my students on how not to wire a car.

I have got a ton of things figured out, but the most important part right now is figuring out the power distribution. Basically how does power get from the battery to the key switch? On the wiring diagram I have it shows a single wire leaving the battery to a junction where 14 brown wires split out. From this spot it shows a single brown wire going to the key switch. I have the key switch loose and from the key switch side I can back track a heavier brown wire a few inches to a connector, at this connector all wires change from colored plastic wrapped to a white woven cloth wrap as they enter the wiring loom. As a result I am not sure where any of them go.

Just FYI the wires on the switch are a heavier Brown. White and Yellow, Pruple and Black, Red and Brown, Smaller diameter Brown, and a White and Black.

I am assuming that the Heavier Brown is in fact the one that is supposed to receive power from the battery at the switch.

Can anyone help? Provide a picture of where the wire leaving the battery goes?

Thanks a ton!

Rob

Let’s be sure whether you have a Series 1 or a Series 2.
http://www.jag-lovers.org/xjlovers/
Here is the spotter’s guide.
http://www.jag-lovers.org/xjlovers/id.html
Series 1 had the bumper below a large grille.
Series 2 had the bumper raised due to Federal rules, and there is a smaller upper grille above the bumper and a wide lower grille below the bumper.