Shock absorbers MK IV

Hi all
I am currently rebuilding the front suspension and removed the shock absorber link arms to re bush them, once I removed the link arm on the drivers side it became obvious that the shock absorber on this side had no fluid in it, so requires replacement or rebuilding, these shocks are probably original and any access to them will be a major issue because of the rusted in caps.
so, I know of a British outfit that could possibly repair them but not one in the US, and I have no experience of rebuilding these, if it could be done by myself, I am thinking that they will be destroyed if I try to open them up, so does any body have a spare? does anybody have any experience of rebuilding these or is there a service within the US that can repair ?

I have a spare pair but the arms are cranked, where as the arms are strait on mine, and I cannot imagine I would be able to swap the arms over, unless somebody has done this,
any help appreciated, the pictures are the rear ones the front ones are the same I think

I’ll bet @Rob_Reilly could help.

Apple Hydraulics in New York has succesfully rebuilt a number of pre and post-war shocks for me. You might give them a call.

XK120 rear shocks are similar. Read this thread.

Vintage and Classic Shock Absorbers UK (Graham Brown) rebuilt shocks and supplied some new parts for my 3 1/2 SS100. The prewar hydraulic shocks are a different configuration but work similarly. I had a unique problem - when I dismantled the rear shocks they were embossed “Ford” - but Graham supplied rebuildable bodies and bushings etc. I recall being able to pull off the arms with a large gear puller. The most expensive part was shipping to/from the the UK from the US.