Spring glass bowl

Hello…here again on new year…happy new year 2021 for all guys …

I am trying to put my jaguar into operation … but obviously I am not an expert and well I am trying to do my best and the best … now I have this doubt … I bought the glass bolw gasoline filter but It comes with a spring … this little spring where is it placed … ??

On the manual I don’t see this little spring…

At the bottom, it pushes the filter into contact with the incoming port.

Thanks I got it…is necessary put a little Grease on the black seal…or something…or not…

Thanks Peter…I’m working on this

BTW what model , XJ or earlier.
Be aware that early models, roughly pre ‘66 / 67 have brass gauze filters tucked up under the Ali body.

Mk2 1967 3.4…

Mi questions is this… should I put grease or shellac on the black seal … or it doesn’t wear anything …and if it has grease it must be on both sides of the black seal…It may be a silly question for the experts … but for me as a beginner it is an important question…thanks

These paper elements are an aftermarket mod (?) or addition – there would normally be a washable brass gauze in the top of the filter held behind the rubber seal (see pic) housing however for some this has gone astray. We have the gauze, but also use a cheap as you like disposable filter between tank and pump and replace it every oil change – 2000 miles or so – seems to catch all the rubbish.

Tigger…When I removed the filter from the bowl for the first time … it did not bring that filter from your picture!!

The rubber ring seal does should not need sealant, lightly tighten the holding clamp then twist the bowl to seat it to the rubber then finish tightening.
Obviously if a gauze filter was fitted its been removed.

These seem to be the only aftermarket filters available these days.
The original , non paper, type, didn’t have a spring.

Thanks so much…I’m going forward