Stripped intake manifold for throttle body

One of the four bolts holding the air box/throttle housing to the intake manifold must have been over-torqued at some point by POs, because I pulled it out today and there was aluminum nicely coiled in the grooves of the bolt. So I can only torque (14 ft lbs) three of the four bolts.

What are my options? Retap for bigger bolt? Will I have a vacuum leak if I leave it for now?

HeliCoil.

Is there room to get a drill into the stripped hole?

Possibly once I remove throttle body? I’ve never done a helicoil before, so it will probably be a couple weeks until I figure out what I need and get to it. Need to order gasket too.

You will have a major vacuum leak if you remove the bolt.Put the bolt in place using blue loctite, silicone sealer, weatherstrip adhesive, until you have a plan!

Not silicone: it’s not gasoline-proof.

All the others a GO!

Thanks, I’ll put some blue loctite on threads, let it dry, then put Teflon tape over that and reinstall bolt snug?

Greg,
I have done several helicoils on my Jaguars (but not for the bolt you are dealing with) due to errors made by prior owners or their shops. I purchased a kit from the local NAPA Auto Parts store. If you take your time and follow the directions they are no big deal to install although a straight line with a drill is needed.

Paul

2 Likes

Could it be that the spiral is not alloy, but a steel Helicoil, installed by a PO. Probably not quite correctly, as they are usually quite reliable.

No, I could tell it was aluminum that came out in the bolt. I didn’t hear any vacuum leaks from that corner, so will need to put this off due to other issue.

Thanks, it doesn’t seem too hard. I just need to get correct size and length now. I measured, it seems that its 3/8" deep of bite.