Xj6 1973 s1 dumping fuel onto the ground & wont start or run

Hey everyone. Im new to the jaguar scene. Im still diving into cars and trying to find out how deep the rabbit hole goes with engines. So my dad threw this 1973 s1 xj6 at me and said “here, restore it!!” Short story long. Ive replaced the battery, both fuel tanks,fuel sending units, fuel filter and air filter. Shorty after i put 1 gallon of 93 into both tanks, tried to start it and it started dumping fuel onto the ground from the pipe that is supposed to be hooked up to the charcoal canister. Also still wont start.

Can anyone help with diagrams on how the fuel connects to the emission hoses?

It goes deeper than that, Steven…

Assuming you have carbs and two submerged pumps, or one or two pumps in boot? I ask to clarify; POs sometimes change from original set-ups…:slight_smile:

Fuel leaking from the charcoal canister implies that the selected tank is ‘overflowing’ - usually due to one tank feeding into the other due to a ‘changeover’ system fault. Your extra fuel may have added to the problem.

First; select the other tank - the overflow should stop. The engine may still not start due to other problems, but the overflow should stop - it’s a diagnostic procedure…:slight_smile:

Report back - and welcome on board!

Frank
xj6 85 Sov Europe (UK/NZ)

Frank, the carb engines don’t have the overflow issue as the fuel is only pumped forward and once running pressure is achieved the pumps stop and await further need. This makes it very much simpler than the S3 EFI setup.

Get a workshop manual, otherwise you’re lost. That has diagrams of the fuel system and much more. Just a gallon in each tank?

1 Like