XK120 OTS spare tire tray question

The third previous restorer/owner of the dead XK120 I’ve been tinkering with off and on for 26+ years didn’t get the boot floor repair quite right. In addition to being a multi-layered steel sandwich it was set 3/8" too high, which was the thickness of body solder I removed today that had been applied as an aesthetic fix. Looked good till you opened the boot lid. The rearmost lip of the panel was cut down a 1/2" or so to allow the boot lid to close. I’ll post pics of the surgery if it interests anyone.

Anyway, I need to know how the boot floor was configured originally to fab the replacement panel. Can any one of you kind, similarly afflicted XK120 restorer/experts point me in the direction of pictures of said panel, top and bottom?

Many thanks.

Let me know if you want to see those pics.

I don’t have a 120 but yes to the pictures please.

Absolutely. This is how it looked with the boot lid closed. Not so bad.

but this is how it looked from the underside. Big chunks of lead to disguise the poor panel fit.

This was the clearance at the rear vs the fuel tank pan, almost half an inch too high

You can see the steel break line and the added lead below fairly clearly

here being melted away

here the deed is done. Almost two pounds of lead

closeup of the right rear clip with the lead removed

this with the boot lid in the closed position, high elevation of boot lid floor clearly evident

here’s the boot floor cut away. Notice the difference in elevation between the sides of the boot and the fuel tank support, also the crude patch - to be replaced

this is the underside of the bodged boot floor

and this is the top side, what you see when the boot is open

what I need to know is how those last two pics differ from original.

I have a lot of photos from my FHC restoration. if you can advise if they are the same I am happy to send.

I expect they’re the same, Phil. I’ll know for sure when I see them.

Thanks!