Engine strip tips?

I’m planning to lift the head off my 140 engine. Any tips for engine strip-down in general? I shall be going through it completely, so presumably I won’t do any harm by just removing the timing gear rather than retaining the cam sprockets in their holders etc. I have a lot of experience with classic engines, but haven’t worked on a XK engine before - the only OHC motor I’ve stripped before was a Stag engine.
Thanks
Roger

edit - should mention, it runs on 5 so I know it’s not seized.

Be careful to NOT rotate the cams or engine, once the chains are disconnected, and before setting it down, combustion chamber side down, to remove the cams.

Keep the cam bearing caps in their respected spots. It likely will need the cooling passages welded up, and that needs to be done by someone who understands these heads.

If you find the head won’t detach from the block due to corrosion on the studs, some people have used a hydraulic jack between the oil filter boss and the intake manifold to loosen it, though I have never done that myself.

I had the situation where one stud on the intake manifold was so corroded it could not be removed, so I suspended the head dangling from the manifold on my hoist and kept putting oil and heat on it, took about 2 weeks as I recall before it moved.

Note the very tiny part numbers stamped on the camshafts, and/or keep the tach drive attached, so you don’t get them mixed up. Measure and make a note of the clearances and shim thicknesses, and keep each valve and tappet in its place. You may get lucky and find none need changing.