XK 140 SE/C type engine

I’ve been asked to help sort a collection of rare XK spares. The owner tells me that this engine came from the USA so I am wondering if its possible to reunite the engine with the original car? If the engine is of interest please contact me via a PM.
I have not used the classifieds as im trying/wanting to find the original car and thought I would get better coverage using the normal forum. everything looks in remarkable condition with no waterway corrosion, bore wear, the head has never been skimmed either!! .

1 Like

Phil, You might want to ask Tom Kent? Along with a couple of XK140 chassis, I saw this and another SE engine in his parts lockup 10 years ago. His records may reveal a connection.

Will do thanks

Hi Phil

I am no expert but from doing a quick Engine number stack from XKData the G-1362-8S could be from a late1954 car. There were very few numbers earlier than it although not all cars are yet on the database and maybe the older ones perished first…
Yes funnily enough I was getting my 1955 C Type head ready for machining only this week and I saw the inverted word TOP on the never been skimmed head. There are a bunch of letters on the opposite side too which I am trying to make out. Perhaps they contain a date code.

Hope this helps - Geoffrey. LONDON UK

Hi again
Just recently Roger Payne summarized the casting ID history and here is what he said

First up - all your photos are 100% consistent with your pictured Cylinder Head stamped G1499-8S is a genuine/original XK140 C-type Head regardless of yours not having the cast in large ‘C’ in the middle of the Spark Plug Valley…

I would like one more photo however please - at the very rear of the spark plug valley there is another stamped in number that I call the HSN (Head Sequence Number), and I estimate yours will be about AU8??